top of page
  • Writer's picturePaige Ward

Marvelous Mondays: Adjusting Your Focus

Updated: Nov 27, 2019


-You have trouble falling asleep.

-You wake up half an hour after your alarm clock was supposed to go off (and realize that the volume was down)

-You're reminded you have a 10 page paper (that you haven't really worked on) due in 2 months plus your other schoolwork that you're a little behind on.

This is how my morning started. Through this morning my attitude was awful. I felt sorry for myself. I felt sorry for myself because I have all this schoolwork to do and this paper to finish that I put God aside. I was focusing on the wrong thing. Instead of waking up this morning in a bad mood and going to God's word I decided to try to get through the day with my attitude. I got to lunchtime when I finally snapped. I realized I had worked on my paper all morning and now have to work late into the afternoon on my regular stuff but one phone call can do a lot. One of my family members called me out of the blue as I was struggling. Has it ever happened that when you're mad and get a phone call you have to pretend you weren't mad at all and try to sound happy? Talk about a struggle. Well after I finished the phone call I sat down and thought about my morning. I was the one who made it awful. It didn't have to be awful but I felt like everyone and everything was out to get me.

When you lose your focus on God you have trouble seeing the joy in your day. You forget to do your devotions, to read your Bible. You don't think about others you focus on yourself.

Photo by Wix

I realized that when I felt frustration and stress creeping in I should have gone straight to God's word. I think we give ourselves an excuse because it's Monday. Everyone says Mondays are bad because we have to go back to school/work but Mondays don't have to be bad. You can choose whether your Monday is good or bad.

We also know that God is there for us through the struggles. I will try my best and with God's help I know I will be able to get this paper done in time.

"For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, 'fear not, I will help you" Isaiah 41:13

I had written up something already to post today but I decided to write this instead. I hope it reminds you that you aren't in control of your circumstances but you are in control how you respond to those circumstances.

"You can't go back and change the beginning, but you can start where you are and change the ending."

C.S. Lewis

I'm not able to change how I reacted this morning but I am able to choose how I react to the rest of my day. I am able to choose to read my Bible now. I am able to choose to be positive and productive with my schoolwork.

I know this was a very honest article but I felt like I needed to share because I'm sure I'm not the only one that has awful Mondays. I hope this encouraged you!

If you have any questions/comments feel free to email me!

Thanks for reading!

-Paige Ward

The Designer

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summer Saturday: What God has been teaching me...

These last few months have been crazy but God has taught me a lot. One of the things He has taught me is something I'd like to share with you guys. Prayer. Prayer for me, having grown up in a Christia

bottom of page